Lawton/Fort Sill Community Coalition Prescription Drug Abuse Subcommittee

The Prescription Drug Abuse Subcommittee is currently working to decrease the non-medical use of prescription drugs among Comanche County adults ages 31 to 70.  You can learn why the LFSCC chose to focus its efforts on this particular priority by checking out the "Regional Epidemiological Outcomes Workgroup" page.  You can learn about how the subcommittee is having an impact by exploring the links at left.

Currently the following persons lead the subcommittee. Additionally, Taressa Macias of WMPN facilitates the subcommittee's efforts.

          Namon C. Melvin, Sr., Chair
          Assistant District Supervisor, Comanche County JSU, District 6, Juvenile Services Division, Office of Juvenile Affairs
          namon.melvin at

          Dr. Tony Wohlers, Vice Chair
          Associate Professor & Director of Academic Enrichment, Cameron University
          Editor, Oklahoma Politics
          President, Oklahoma Political Science Association
          awohlers at

The efforts of the Prescription Drug Abuse Subcommittee are funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, and the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services.  For more information about the subcommittee, please contact its Chair Namon (nay-muhn) Melvin (listed above) or its host, WMPN (Lawton). You can also see the next meeting date of the subcommittee on our agency calendar.